Relief from cart paths

IMG_20160622_155323 (Large)A contentious issue that often arises at my club relates to relief from cart paths, specifically in relation to the “overflow” of the aggregate that composes the cart paths.  As you can see from the photo, the paths are not the more common cement variety, but are composed of a dirt/gravel/crushed granite mix.  The problem that has developed over the years is that the paths have “expanded” well beyond their original width, for a number of reasons, the main one being torrential rain.  The ground-staff do a commendable job in attempting to maintain the paths after they have developed potholes, but even the act of running the scraper over the paths has the effect of pushing the aggregate out beyond the original width of the path.

The question that is regularly asked is: “Do I get relief if my ball is resting on the dirt/gravel that lies off the original line of the path?”  I can say categorically that you DO get relief if your ball is on the overflow, and not in a hazard AND your feet are on the original line of the path, as you take your normal stance.

BUT, do you get relief, if both your ball and your feet are on the overflow (but not in a hazard) as you take your normal stance?

Post your answers and comments below.

Advertisements

Golf Rules -some interesting scenarios

Because I have developed a keen interest in the Rules of Golf and have sat and passed a number of Club level exams as well as the R&A Level 1 exam, I am often asked for my opinion about a situation or situations that have arisen, often just that day, at my club.

It can often be daunting to be asked to give an answer on the spot, because quite often, a key piece of information might not be given, or the person making the query has used the wrong terminology. What I hope to do in this blog is over the next few months, deal with queries and questions that have arisen in the past, or will come up.  Hopefully, I will be able to add some photos to make the situation better to understand.

The first question is particularly relevant since the Men’s Foursomes is being played tomorrow at my Club.

Mike and Dave are partners in the Foursomes.  Mike tees off on the 5th hole and pulls his ball directly into the water in front of the tee.  They decide that their best option is to play another ball from the tee.  The question is: who has to play the ball, Mike or Dave?

The answer is Dave, and they are now playing their 3rd shot, with a penalty being applied. The general principle to keep in mind is that a penalty does not alter the order of play.

(An interesting aside to this question relates to what would happen if it was a Mixed Foursomes event, and Mike this time was partnered by Betty.  Mike again has teed off on the 5th and hit his ball into the water, so they decide to play again from the tee.  However, this time, it is Betty who has to play the shot, but because she is a woman, this does not mean she gets to play off the Ladies’ tees.)